Skip to:

Faculty and Instructors

Enter all or part of the person's name
Select the person's primary affiliation to filter the list
Photograph Name E-mailsort descending Affiliations Title Research Interests
ICME Adjunct Professor
ICME Adjunct Professor
Spakowitz, Andrew ajspakow@stanford.edu
Web
Chemical Engineering Assistant Professor

Professor Spakowitz's research group utilizes analytical theory and computational techniques to address the physics of biological systems and complex fluids.

Marsden, Alison amarsden@stanford.edu Pediatrics, Bioengineering, ICME Associate Professor

Professor Marsden’s research focuses on patient specific modeling and simulation for cardiovascular disease.  She develops and applies advanced algorithms for computational fluid dynamics, optimization, and uncertainty quantification to clinically relevant problems with particular interests in pediatric and congenital heart disease and coronary artery disease.

Vasy, Andras andras@math.stanford.edu
Web
Mathematics Associate Professor

Research interests are partial differential equations, more specifically microlocal analysis and geometric scattering theory.

Antony Jameson Jameson, Antony antony.jameson@stanford.edu
Web
Aeronautics and Astronautics Professor (Research), Thomas V. Jones Professor in the School of Engineering

Professor Jameson's research focuses on the numerical solution of partial differential equations with applications to subsonic, transonic, and supersonic flow past complex configurations, as well as aerodynamic shape optimization.

Arogyaswami Paulraj Paulraj, Arogyaswami apaulraj@stanford.edu
Web
Electrical Engineering Professor (Research) Emeritus
  • MIMO Wireless Theory  (Wikipedia Article)
  • Antenna Array Processing
  • Mobile and WLAN Wireless Systems
Ashish Goel Goel, Ashish ashishg@stanford.edu
Web
Management Science and Engineering Associate Professor

I conduct research in the design, analysis, and applications of algorithms. Current application interests include Social Networks and Social Algorithms;
Crowdsourced Democracy; Internet Commerce; Reputation, Recommendation, and Trust Systems; Algorithms for large scale data processing.

Behrman, Bill behrman@stanford.edu
Web
ICME Director, Stanford Data Lab
  • The development of the practical skills of data science through project-based learning
  • The solution of data science challenges from social sector
Biondi, Biondo biondo@stanford.edu
Web
Geophysics Professor of Geophysics, Co-Director, Center for Computational Earth and Environmental Science

Professor Biondi and his students devise new algorithms to improve the imaging of reflection seismic data.

Boyd, Stephen boyd@stanford.edu
Web
Electrical Engineering Professor

Convex optimization, especially applications to engineering problems.

Benjamin Van Roy Van Roy, Benjamin bvr@stanford.edu
Web
Electrical Engineering, Management Science and Engineering Professor

Professor Van Roy is interested in the formulation and analysis of mathematical models that address problems in information technology, business, and public policy.

Emmanuel Candes Candes, Emmanuel candes@stanford.edu
Web
Mathematics, Statistics The Simons Chair in Mathematics and Statistics

Compressive sensing, mathematical signal processing, computational harmonic analysis, scientific computing, stastistical estimation and detection, high-dimensional statistics. Applications to the imaging sciences and inverse problems. Other topics of interest include mathematical optimization and information theory.

Cecka, Cris ccecka@stanford.edu ICME Adjunct Professor
Charbel Farhat Farhat, Charbel cfarhat@stanford.edu
Web
Aeronautics and Astronautics, Mechanical Engineering Professor, Chair, Aeronautics and Astronautics, Vivian Church Hoff Professor of Aircraft Structures

Professor Farhat and his research group develop mathematical models, advanced computational algorithms, and high-performance software for the design and analysis of complex systems in aerospace, marine, mechanical, and naval engineering.

Eric Darve Darve, Eric darve@stanford.edu
Web
Mechanical Engineering Associate Professor

Professor Darve's research is focused on the development of numerical methods for large scale scientific computing with applications in biomolecular simulations, acoustics, electromagnetics, and microfluidics.

James, Doug djames@cs.stanford.edu Computer Science, ICME Professor of Computer Science
  • Computer Graphics
  • Computer Sound
  • Physically based Modeling and Animation
  • Reduced-order Physics Models
David Donoho Donoho, David donoho@stat.stanford.edu
Web
Statistics Anne T. and Robert M. Bass Professor in the School of Humanities and Sciences

Professor Donoho's theoretical research interests have focused on the mathematics of statistical inference and on theoretical questions arising in applying harmonic analysis to various applied problems. His applied research interests have ranged from data visualization to various problems in scientific signal processing, image processing, and inverse problems.

Eric Dunham Dunham, Eric edunham@stanford.edu
Web
Geophysics Assistant Professor

Research focuses on the development and use of physics-based computational simulations to characterize and understand earthquakes and volcanoes.

Shaqfeh, Eric esgs@stanford.edu
Web
Chemical Engineering, Mechanical Engineering Professor, Chair, Chemical Engineering, Lester Levi Carter Professor

Professor Shaqfeh's research program includes the study of different areas associated with transport in complex fluids including: a) the occurrence of purely elastic instabilities in polymer flows, b) the micro-dynamics of polymer molecules, including DNA, in nonequilibrium transport, c) the flow behavior of fiber suspensions, d) the general microfluidic flow behavior of complex fluids and, most recently, e) the stability of compressible boundary layer flows.

Ron Fedkiw Fedkiw, Ron fedkiw@cs.stanford.edu
Web
Computer Science Associate Professor

Professor Fedkiw's research is focused on the design of new computational algorithms for a variety of applications including computational fluid dynamics, computer graphics, and biomechanics.

Oliver Fringer Fringer, Oliver fringer@stanford.edu
Web
Civil and Environmental Engineering Associate Professor

Research focuses on the development and application of numerical models and high-performance computational techniques to the study of fundamental processes that influence the dynamics of the coastal ocean, rivers, lakes, and estuaries.

Giesecke, Kay giesecke@stanford.edu
Web
Management Science and Engineering Associate Professor

Kay's research addresses the quantification and management of financial risks. He is particularly interested in

  • The stochastic modeling, valuation and hedging of financial risks,
  • The development of statistical tools to estimate and predict these risks, and
  • The methods for solving the significant computational problems that arise in this context.

His research contributions...

Peter Glynn Glynn, Peter glynn@stanford.edu
Web
Management Science and Engineering Professor and Chair, Management Science and Engineering, Thomas W. Ford Professor in the School of Engineering

Interests include discrete-event simulation, computational probability, queuing, and general theory for stochastic systems. Current applications areas include performance engineering for communications networks, control algorithms for wireless networks, and computational finance.

Gous, Alan gous@stanford.edu ICME Adjunct Professor
Leonidas Guibas Guibas, Leonidas guibas@cs.stanford.edu
Web
Computer Science Professor, Paul Piggot Professor in Engineering

Current foci of interest include geometric modeling with point cloud data, deformations and contacts, organizing and searching libraries of 3D shapes and images, sensor networks for lightweight distributed estimation / reasoning, analysis of GPS traces and other mobility data, and modeling the shape and motion biological macromolecules and other biological structures.  More theoretical work is aimed at investigating fundamental computational issues and limits in geometric computing and...

Gunnar Carlsson Carlsson, Gunnar gunnar@math.stanford.edu Mathematics Professor

Applied algebraic topology and algebraic K-theory

Patrick Hanrahan Hanrahan, Patrick hanrahan@cs.stanford.edu
Web
Computer Science, Electrical Engineering Professor, Canon Professor in the School of Engineering

Current research involves rendering algorithms, high performance graphics architectures, and systems support for graphical interaction. Professor Hanrahan also has worked on raster graphics systems, computer animation and modeling and scientific visualization, in particular, volume rendering.

Jerry M. Harris Harris, Jerry harrisgp@stanford.edu
Web
Geophysics Cecil H. and Ida M. Green Professor of Geophysics, Associate Dean for Multicultural Affairs

Professor Harris' research interests address a range of problems related to the physics and dynamics of seismic and electromagnetic waves in complex media.

Hastie, Trevor hastie@stanford.edu
Web
Statistics, ICME Professor
  • Statistical Learning and Datamining
  • Statistical Computing
  • Bioinformatics
Juan Alonso Alonso, Juan jjalonso@stanford.edu
Web
Aeronautics and Astronautics Associate Professor

Past and current research includes transonic, supersonic, and hypersonic vehicles, rotorcraft, turbomachinery, and launch vehicles. Specific current interests include advanced methods for design, multi-fidelity optimization, environmentally-friendly aircraft, uncertainty quantification and robust design, and system-level challenges for NextGen.

Taylor, Jonathan jonathan.taylor@stanford.edu
Web
Statistics Professor
Gianluca Iaccarino Iaccarino, Gianluca jops@stanford.edu
Web
Mechanical Engineering Associate Professor

Research themes include numerical methods for fluid mechanics, physical models for laminar/turbulent flows, and uncertainty quantification in computational science.

Suckale, Jenny jsuckale@stanford.edu Geophysics Assistant Professor
Jain, Kapil kkjain@stanford.edu
Web
ICME Lecturer

Directing the ICME MCF program

Tse Leung Lai Lai, Tze Leung lait@stat.stanford.edu
Web
Statistics, Cancer Center Professor of Statistics

Professor Lai's present research areas include sequential experimentation, adaptive design and control, stochastic optimization, time series analysis and forecasting, change-point detection, hidden Markov models and particle filters, empirical Bayes modeling, multivariate survival analysis, probability theory and stochastic processes, biostatistics, econometrics, quantitative finance, risk management cancer clinical trials, biomarker-guided personalized medicine, machine learning and...

Le, Hung lehung@stanford.edu ICME, Mechanical Engineering Lecturer
Sanjiva Lele Lele, Sanjiva lele@stanford.edu Aeronautics and Astronautics, Mechanical Engineering Professor

Professor Lele's research combines numerical simulations with analytical modeling to study fundamental unsteady flow phenomena, turbulence, flow instabilities, and flow-generated sound.

Adrian Lew Lew, Adrian lewa@stanford.edu
Web
Mechanical Engineering Associate Professor

Professor Lew's interests lie in the broad area of computational solid mechanics. He is concerned with the fundamental design and mathematical analysis of material models and numerical algorithms.

Ying, Lexing lexing@math.stanford.edu
Web
Mathematics, ICME Professor

Professor Ying's research focuses on developing fast and accurate numerical algorithms for problems in acoustics and electromagnetics, computational seismology, computational material sciences, and transport theory.

Lawrence M Wein Wein, Lawrence lwein@gsb.stanford.edu
Web
Graduate School of Business Jeffrey S. Skoll Professor Professor of Management Science , Senior Fellow (by courtesy), Freeman Spogli Institute for International Studies at Stanford

Research areas include manufacturing, health care, and homeland security.

Margot Gerritsen photo Gerritsen, Margot margot.gerritsen@stanford.edu
Web
Energy Resources Engineering Director, Institute for Computational and Mathematical Engineering, Associate Professor

Professor Gerritsen's primary research interests are the design and analysis of efficient numerical solution methods for partial differential equations that arise in fluid dynamics. She currently specializes in simulation and performance prediction of heavy oil reservoirs and enhanced oil recovery processes.

Wootters, Mary marykw@stanford.edu
Web
Computer Science, Electrical Engineering Assistant Professor

Broadly interested in theoretical computer science and theoretical aspects of engineering, especially concerning communication, storage, and data processing.   More specifically in error correcting codes, randomized algorithms, dimension reduction, matrix completion, group testing, and sparse signal processing.  

Minion, Michael mlminion@stanford.edu
Web
ICME Adjunct Professor

Research interests are in scientific computing with an emphasis on novel algorithms for problems in fluid dynamics.

Parviz Moin Moin, Parviz moin@stanford.edu
Web
Mechanical Engineering Franklin P. and Caroline M. Johnson Professor in the School of Engineering, Chair, Flow Physics and Computation Division of Mechanical Engineering

Professor Moin pioneered the use of direct and Large Eddy Simulation techniques for the study of turbulence physics, control and modelling concepts and has written widely on the structure of turbulent shear flows. His current interests include: interaction of turbulent flows and shock waves, aerodynamic noise and hydroacoustics, aerooptics, combustion, numerical analysis, turbulence control, large eddy simulation and parallel computing.

Henderson, Nicholas nwh@stanford.edu ICME Research Engineer
Brad Osgood Osgood, Brad osgood@ee.stanford.edu
Web
Electrical Engineering, Education Professor

Professor Osgood is interested in problems in imaging, pattern recognition, and signal processing.

Vijay Pande Pande, Vijay pande@stanford.edu
Web
Chemistry Professor

Professor Pande and his group are interested in the self-assembly properties of biomolecules: for example, how do protein and RNA molecules fold? How do proteins misfold and aggregate and how can we use our understanding of this process to tackle misfolding related diseases, such as Alzheimer's or Huntington's Disease? How can we design or discover novel small molecules to inhibit this process?

Papanicolaou, George papanicolaou@stanford.edu
Web
Mathematics Robert Grimmett Professor of Mathematics

Professor Papanicolaou is currently working on assessing multi-pathing effects in communication systems, especially when time reversal arrays are used. Another recent interest is financial mathematics, the use of asymptotics for stochastic equations in analyzing complex models of financial markets and in data analysis.

Marco Pavone Pavone, Marco pavone@stanford.edu
Web
Aeronautics and Astronautics Assistant Professor

Research interests lie in the area of design and control of autonomous systems, with a focus on robotic platforms for planetary exploration, distributed coordination of multi-robot networks, formation flying, and transportation networks.

Pages